Alone in big, bad China.

I’m alone! I now have the apartment to myself, as my room-mate has started travelling. I actually enjoy the peace and quiet. So this past week I’ve been travelling to Chengdu city for interviews. It’s hard work. For me, it takes an hour to get to the city. Coming from a small town in Ireland it’s a bit of a change having to travel that far just for an interview. On Tuesday I had 2 interviews. One was at 10:30, another at 3pm.

So to pass the hours in between, I found a Starbucks and indulged in a Cappuccino and a blueberry muffin. At home, I would never sit in a coffee shop by myself. Never. But in China, a lot of people do it. They either read a book or watch something on their phones. It was just so relaxing, chilling by myself.  I think that might be a regular thing now.

Some people would think being by yourself is torture. I love it. I confess I’m an introvert, so the idea of being by myself in an apartment doesn’t phase me at all. I quite enjoy my own company. Although that’s not to say that I don’t like working with people. I like a balance between the two.

 And there ARE Western people in China. While I was sitting at the window in Starbucks, 7 Westerners walked by. They do exist. I even know who is a Western when they are not facing me. We really do stick out like sore thumbs here.

Aisling

Leave a Reply

