See You Soon China!

Well I gave the family the best present ever… ME. I kept my arrival a secret only for 2 close friends who knew. My plan worked out perfectly.  The flight was fine, where I got a bus back to Dundalk, and hailed a taxi. I asked him to drop me at my neighbours house where I would walk down. I didn’t want them to hear the car outside. So I knocked on the window where Mum was sitting, and the look of SHOCK on her face when she saw me was unforgettable. My sister leapt out of bed and gave me a huge hug. My Dad thought he was dreaming when he saw me, and nephew was hyper the whole day. It was such a great day, although I was extremely tired by 4pm.

When I booked the ticket home, that was it, it was a definite ‘I’m going home’ in a week’s time feeling. It was at that stage that I actually didn’t want to go back to Ireland. I still didn’t have a job, so I thought ‘I’ll head back home and continue to look for a job’, that way, I get to see the family. It was tough though. So the week before I was due to leave, I made it my mission to go to as many interviews at possible during my free week.

Although when the day arrived, I was so sad leaving my Chinese friends that I made. I know I will see them again but it’s always sad to leave people. The taxi to the airport was hard, where they drove up with me, checked in and walked me to the security area. But It would have been 10 times harder if I knew I was never going to see them again, so I suppose it could have been worse.

Everybody keeps saying to me ‘welcome home!’ when actually It’s just a flying visit. The day before I left, I signed my contract, and now I can’t wait to get back to China. Back in August, I had no idea what China was like. No idea. I have to admit it is COMPLETELY different to Ireland. Literally everything is different, it’s like a totally new world. Back then I didn’t know whether I would like it. ‘I could hate it and want to go home’ was what I thought. But I was totally wrong. I can’t believe how much I love it. I could happily spend the next few years living there. Although it is hard at times (I’ll write a post about this topic later).

It was over 2 months ago when I decided ‘yes, I want to stay here’. Of course I have my family and I will miss them, but at the end of the day, it’s my life. There is no point living life for my parents. That is one thing I most certainly would have regretted later on.  I know some people just want to stay at home, work and have an easy life at home with everything and everyone that they are familiar with. Since going to China, that is NOT what I want my life to be like. Adventure: yes please.

I’m not sure when exactly I am going back to China, sometime in the next few weeks, but … I will see you soon China… and I cannot wait.

Aisling

Leave a Reply

