What’s the plan?

Lately myself and my boyfriend have been talking about what we will do after our contracts have ended. I tell you, its a bit of a dilema.

Our reasons for staying in China:

Learning the Language. We really want to learn Mandarin. We made a pact that we would put more effort into studying it, so we can find out how much we can learn if we actually tried. I really want to learn a 2nd language, because I know it will benefit me in the future. My boyfriend speaks Spanish and English so he’s it’s great for him, whereas I know English, basic Irish, French and Mandarin. So I may get starting with my Mandarin.

Visit other places. Yes I know Sichuan is great and there is loads to do here, but it would be great to see more of China. It is such a huge country with some beautiful places, it would be a shame not to visit them while I am here. Im becoming bored of Sichuan and Chengdu and Im itching to experience more places.

I have a list of why I don’t want to stay in China, but that will have to wait for another post.

So… our plan, our very rough plan, is maybe to finish both our contracts, then decide to work in a different city in China. I know our company has a few other campuses in other cities, so they are possibilities. It would be nice to be located in South China; the weather is better and you are closer to Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia and Thailand making it easier to travel to those countries.

So work again for another year and maybe, just maybe we might go to Japan and work there.

Now these are all just ideas, and we have no idea if they will materialize, but its nice to dream.

I have another 5-6 months left on my contract so we still have plenty of time to decide what we want to do.

But, change is good. Monotony is bad.

Aisling.

Leave a Reply

