Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night.

Merry Christmas to everyone. This Christmas has been much better than my previous one; working, feeling very very alone, and not being with the people I love.

This time round is much different. I had a lovely Christmas meal with my boyfriend and his family, received some lovely presents, and just generally feel much happier than last year.

I know last year I posted that next Christmas I would definitely be home to celebrate, it hasn’t happened. But I’m happy where I am.

Although I miss the celebrations at home; food, films, atmosphere, christmas lights… and just generally being with the family and watching my nephew open his presents… being where I am is a whole lot better than last Christmas.

But It’s hard very hard missing Christmas, every expat knows the feeling. People who never missed a Christmas with their family might think that it isn’t that hard; but it is.

Christmas only happens once a year; where your family get together, have a lovely dinner and just relax with the people you love. A whole day dedicated to that. Being with family, and hopefully, with no arguments. So when you’re living in a different country it’s just not the same, and it never will be.

Maybe next Christmas I will be home to celebrate with my family, and with my new niece or nephew who will be arriving into this world in February. Maybe I wont. But being away from home during Christmas makes me remember the past 22 Christmases where I WAS at home, and how wonderful they were and how I will cherish the lovely memories with my family.

And how, when I do go home for Christmas, I’ll have to buy presents for an extra member of the family.

They’re going to be spoilt rotten by their Aunty.

Merry Christmas.

Aisling.

Leave a Reply

