Getting ready for home time!

In about 20 days we’ll be on our way to Ireland. Being away for 1 year and a half is scary! It’s flown by but also I feel like I missed loads back home.  My nephew was 2 when I left, and he just turned 4 a few days ago. He’s a completely different boy now! Last time I could carry him about, but now, I’m definitely sure I won’t be able to do that. Plus with the added nephew it’s going to be extra strange coming home to another addition to the family.

So, I’ve started to slowly get stuff ready for going; with Uni and working, we don’t get much time to do stuff. We’ve bought our tickets to both Ireland and France, booked our accommodation in Paris, so now we have to organise our money situation and see how much we should bring.

My 4 year old nephew has also not been letting me forget about what he wants! Specifically dinosaurs. He also added that he wanted a train and gates so he can put the dinosaurs in it. That request was a little to difficult for me to achieve, but myself and Rafael bought him about 9 dinosaurs, 8 that are stationary and 1 that is bigger and moves. So I hope they will make him happy!

As for my other nephew, because he’s only about 4 months old, he’ll have to settle with a hand made (unisex) cardigan from Mexico.

When I think of the souvenirs I brought from Mexico, it made me realise where did I actually put them. Since moving, I haven’t seen them around the apartment. I’ll have to dig them up too so I can give them to my family.

Food wise for Ireland, I did tell Mum to make her special omelette for when we arrive, but I’ve suddenly changed my mind, going for a typical Irish breakfast! We’ll arrive in the morning so it’ll be the perfect breakfast! I realised; we have eggs and the ingredients here, so we could make our own omelette if we wanted to, whereas with an Irish breakfast it’s impossible to make here.

And University wise, we only have a few weeks left until semester one is finished! The amount I’ve learned is amazing, so I hope I’ll learn lots more in level 2. I think I could comfortably do the HSK level 1 exam now. This is the Chinese language proficiency exam for foreigners. I know, I know, I did say  months ago on this blog that I was planning on doing the exam for ages. But I got lazy, and wasn’t actually sure If I could do it. But I think maybe we could do it after we come back from Ireland.

For now, I’m concentrating on learning the characters from the first book. I’ve calculated that I need to learn 10 characters a day in order to know them for the exam. I don’t think I’ll know them all, though, as I tend to forget how to write them very easily.  But I have all summer to make sure I know them for level 2. 

For now thats everything for you,

When I get that backpack out then it’ll really be time to go!

再见!

Aisling.

8 thoughts on “Getting ready for home time!

  1. Hey! My girlfriend and I have been accepted onto a 4 month placement in Chengdu (or maybe somewhere nearby) starting next year – anything you’d recommend?!

      • I take it after 2 years you recommend it as a place! We are doing a 4 month scheme for the Sichuan government, have you heard any reviews of it? Is there a good western expat group in chengdu?

      • No I never heard about it. Yeah there is big expat community, a lot of people go here. Many expats live in the Tongzilin area but because of that, this means its more expensive than the other places. Yeah its a good place to live, only problem is during the winter the weather is quite bad so it’s a bit depressing. Oh and the people drive madly and spit a lot. The Chengdu people are more ‘traditional’ than say people from the Eastern cities. But I plan on staying here another year at least, many people stay quite a while! I think Chengdu is more layed back and I think many expats like it here, you’ll find a lot of people to meet!

      • What is it with the spitting? Pollution levels or what?
        I just hope we get placed in Chengdu! We won’t know until we’re out there where in Sichuan we’ll be teaching – eek! Is the food really as spicy as everyone says?

      • I don’t actually know, they just do it a lot, usually the older generation though. For me,when I first came, I thought it was spicy as I never really ate much spicy food at home! But sometimes they don’t add as much as usual if your a foreigner; they think we can’t handle it! So when we say we want very spicy they are shocked. The Hot Pot is good and spicy though! Yeah Sichuan is a good province, lots to see and close to Tibet so you can see their culture too in Western Sichuan!

Leave a Reply

