My (few) New Years resolutions.

With 2016 nearly upon us, I’ve been thinking about what my new years resolutions will be.

Study more Chinese.

This is the most important one! I really love learning Chinese, I really do,I just wish I could actually see some significant improvement! I know I learnt loads, but until I can successfully have a decent conversation in Chinese, I won’t be happy. I plan on reading Chinese books (thanks to Rafa for buying them for me), watching Chinese movies and practise my listening and speaking.

 Do the HSK 3 exam.

I’ve been putting this HSK thing off for way too long now, so this year I WILL do it! I really need to focus on the characters though, as for the level 3 exam there are a lot of characters I don’t know. As I don’t get a degree from studying in the Uni, this exam is actually physical proof of the effort I put into Chinese.

Do more exercise.

These past few months I admittedly gained some weight. My suspicions attributed to this come from buying a huge block of cheese from Metro…. and it was gone in about 4 months. We plan on doing more walking to and from Uni, so hopefully we will see a difference. Also, when we make food ourselves, our portion size is a tad on the large size for just 2 people. 

 Travel more around China. 

Although this resolutions is only a dream, as, at the moment I can’t afford it, but maybe I may get the chance this year with a stroke of luck. Ha I’ll give the Chinese Lottery a go! There are so many places to visit here, you would need a few solid months to travel around.

Last but not least, be happier.

Although I enjoy living in China, just some days I wish I was back home with my family. I enjoy my Mum’s cooking too much while I’m at home, and I will really miss clothes shopping in Penneys (Primark). I hate clothes shopping in China; the employees girls hovering beside me makes me feel like a robber in their shops. I think my problem is I reminisce too much about home and then get sad. I need to enjoy my time in China more!

再见!

爱玲。

2 thoughts on “My (few) New Years resolutions.

  1. Hi Aisling, I am working with RTE on a TV series about people living abroad. It would be great to have a chat to you about living in China. If you want to drop me an email I can send on more information. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

