Our idea of moving

As much as I love the city of Chengdu, I think.. finally, we have come to the conclusion that we need to move.

After coming back from Ireland, the cold here has just been driving us mad. Even tidying the house is actually a struggle, with our crappy air con, the apartment is still freezing, meaning all we want to do is sit huddled beside our ‘fires’.

The pollution is also another major factor. I’ve heard, 7,500 people in China die from cancer…. each day! With lung cancer as one of the most common cancers. . . what a surprise.

I suppose at this stage, I’ve become numb about the whole pollution issue. Yes it’s here, I see it everyday in the sky, but… thats Chengdu. And I go about my business. I suppose when I hear it from people back home talking about the air quality in China that I realise ‘yeah, it actually is a problem’.

Recently, every Sunday there seems to be a respite from the pollution…. and the sun shines bright with no clouds to be seen. I love Chengdu when the weather is good. If the weather was sunny, I would definitely stay here longer. I’ve been here nearly two and a half years so this city has become ‘home’ in a way.

I’m familiar with the roads and locations (of most places), I enjoy riding on the e-bike as it’s so convenient. I like our complex; not too big or small. We are within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Uni is super handy to get to, and I just walk 10 minutes to get the bus to work. Plus, the new subway line is hopefully going to open in the summer, about a 15 minute walk away from us.

I’m comfortable here, so when I think of us moving, and having to start from scratch….. it definitely makes me nervous and anxious.

This time next year we hope to move to another city in China, so by then we’ll have two years of learning Mandarin which I’m sure should help us in moving just that bit easier.

One city that we are seriously considering is Xiamen. This is in the south east of China, opposite the island of Taiwan. The weather is much better I hear. For me, Xiamen looks ‘tropical’…. whereas Chengdu is more ‘rustic’. We were possibly thinking of Kunming, but it seems like the city’s weather is also becoming more prone to smog.

Anyway, we do have another year to decide.

I’ll try not to panic just yet!

再见!

爱玲

6 thoughts on “Our idea of moving

  1. I’ve just come back from a trip to Xiamen, and as I currently live in smog-ridden Jinan, I can assure you that Xiamen’s air is beautifully smog-free! It was lovely to breathe fresh air again, and upon returning to Jinan, I suddenly realised how bad the air is here again! It is good to have a reality check once in a while to remind you why you bought (and should be using) those good quality face masks.
    Regardless of whether you choose Xiamen or not, I wish you luck on your search for somewhere to live!

  2. We spent 2 days in Kunming and it’s awesome!! We had serious expat-envy. Pollution is definitely better there although possibly still grim by Western standards! Looking forward to seeing you guys in cold, smoggy Chengdu anyway 😀😀

Leave a Reply

