My Dwindling Lack Of Interest

From coming back from the Philippines, my interest in learning Chinese has dropped considerably. Before, I was reading my Chinese books, reviewing the grammar, and generally I enjoyed doing these things. My private language tutor also mentioned to me that my Chinese had improved a lot, which made me quite puzzled at the fact that apparently it had indeed improved… but never the less it gave me a little boost of confidence.

Now it’s a different story. I haven’t opened a book in about over 2 week or watched my daily Chinese TV series. When I look at my pile of school books I think “No… no today” I think this lack of interest is due to the fact that we are leaving in the summer. We have a few things to sort out first, but we are 90% sure we will leave. So that in an extent has influenced it.

Second, all this stuff with work has sort of preoccupied me. I think once my 30 days notice is finished I’ll stick my head back in the books. Until then I’ll continue to wallow in pity that I still have (at the moment) 14 more work days! I’m actually counting down the days until I say 再见!!Goodbye!!

Then, with our intention of going to Mexico has really just made me mad to start learning Spanish. I’ve tried a few times to start….but not being surrounded by speakers and not really having the need to speak it here…. it’s sort of difficult to get going.

Hopefully when I return to Ireland and however long I stay there for, I hope I’ll be able to start getting Spanish lessons. Maybe I might even try and get some Chinese ones too, try and not let that disappear on me!

再见

爱玲

 

5 thoughts on “My Dwindling Lack Of Interest

    • My fiancee’s parents live in Cuernavaca, about 1+ hours from Mexico City. I’ve visited Mexico about 2 years ago and loved it; everyones so friendly and the weather is great! Not 100% sure when we will go back but maybe this year or next year. I can’t wait to go… will try and tackle some Spanish too!

Leave a Reply

