Back To School Tomorrow! 我不要去! (I don’t want to go!!)

AAAGGHH….School.Tomorrow! Forget.Everything!

My Chinese has literally disappeared since not attending University. Today was the first time that I opened my books which we will use from tomorrow onwards. . and the first two characters are 从前 and I forgot what they meant. The first two characters!

So that’s definitely not a great start, plus it’s not even a difficult word! It means ‘previously;formerly;once upon a time’ by the way.

Also, getting up earlier than 9am has been a struggle for me lately… never mind having to get up at 7am! I think once this week is done I’ll be used to the early morning… it will also be good to get into a routine again!

Usually I’m really excited to be going back. But this time around not so much. I think it’s due to the fact that my last semesters teachers didn’t put too much pressure on us in class. My reading and writing teacher just went through the story, grammar and vocab, while I listened and took notes. It was an easy class and I knew she wouldn’t ask us anything.

Then my listening and speaking teacher spent most of the time chatting to us, so I wasn’t too worried about having to speak. Good for my listening though!

But now I’ll be having new teachers… and they might actually expect me to do some work in class!  Oh and talk Chinese!

Oh and I also have to laugh at our Chinese books sometimes. Some of the stories in them are quite strange! For previewing my text for tomorrows class, I found out that this weeks lesson is about a donkey which fell into a well…. obviously the owner has no idea how to get it out…. so he decides (because the donkey is old) that he’ll abandon it…. and fill the well with soil.

So he’s going to kill the donkey!!??!!

To me that’s an awful way to deal with this situation! haha I have no idea who came up with this story.

img_0622

The story in question

Thankfully though, the donkey found out what the owner was doing, and was clever enough to stand on the soil as they threw it in, so finally there would put enough soil in the well so that the donkey will be able to escape.

So, it ends well at least!

But I’d definitely find a new owner If I was the donkey!

img_0623

Poor donkey, nobody wants him

But anyway…. that’s the sort of thing we learn in Chinese class!

I wonder what other weird and wonderful stories I’ll be learning in the next few week!

再见

爱玲

 

Leave a Reply

