Saying Goodbye To My Students

Having just finished my last day of work, I’ve sadly had to say goodbye to all of my students. I’ve been extremely lucky… most of my students were great. 1 boy was a bit of a pain, but I honestly never dreaded having to go in and teach a class. I know there are a lot of teachers in my campus with some horror students!

So because I had lovely students, that’s more of a reason why I’ll miss them! Also having to lie that ‘I’m leaving in a few weeks’ makes me feel bad. But if I stayed, I would have had to say goodbye to them in a few months time anyway though.

It was tough saying goodbye to the oldest student I had. When I moved to another campus, she moved with me. So I’ve had her for about 3 years I think. (She’s the one that calls me fat), but apart from that she was a brilliant and kind student!

After my last class her Mum and Dad came in, gave me a Prada gift of a small purse (Prada no less!) and we said our goodbyes. (I gave her a card but I felt bad that they gave me a quite expensive gift) I also got a picture of me and her together which is nice to keep! I think the whole family was sad about me leaving… but I know the teacher that will take over is super nice and I know my student will be fine with her.

She even shocked me when she sent me this:

Unfortunately my reading of handwritten characters isn’t the best so I need a Chinese person to help me translate some of it, but I’m so happy that she took the time and energy to write this for me. It’s so great to know that she enjoyed having class with me and that she felt comfortable with me.

It’s nice that you build this relationship with your students. I only had her once a week, but in that hour you do build a bond and relationship. She (and all my other students) knew they could joke in class and have a laugh with me. Once we just get a bit of work done as well!

Another one of my students who is 14years old also gave me a keyring! She is super nice. Her Mum and Dad said that their daughter liked me a lot and will miss me. I also got a photo with her and the Mum. It’s nice to hear these things… that I’ve had an impact on their lives, no matter how small it was!

It’s such a pity though that I had to leave them because of the company. I loved all my students and they definitely weren’t the reasons why I left. It really is a shame.

I remember when I finished my internship at the University that I taught at… I wondered will I ever see any of my students again. Unfortunately I haven’t seen any since. But I often wonder what they are doing or where they are. Maybe I pass them on the street all the time and I don’t even know it!

Thankfully I’ve gotten some of my students wechat number (sort of like whats app) so we can communicate by that. Some also said they would love to visit me in Ireland! That would be nice!

But anyway, I’ll miss them all. But at the end of the day I’d have to leave them one day…. just thought I would have them just a little bit longer…

再见

爱玲

 

Leave a Reply

