Trying To Think Of The Positives

Still not knowing whether we can leave China in the summer… I’ve decided to think of the positives of staying another few months here. I miss my family so much though. I know that with every year that passes my Mum and Dad are sadly getting older…

But anyway…. I have to try and think of the good if we  have to stay here.

  1. I can continue to study Chinese.

I really love Chinese. I really do. If my Chinese was perfect I’d like to teach it in Ireland. But of course I don’t have a teaching degree, plus my Chinese is definitely nowhere near to fluency… but I’d like to do that.

2. I can continue to eat proper Chinese food.

I love that I can walk literally two minutes outside my apartment building and I can easily find a restaurant. We are extremely lucky to live next to great amenities; bus stops, metro, my favourite Coco shop (they sell all different sorts of milk teas and that).  We are spoiled with where we live. Plus the food is great and so cheap. On average we spend about  €8 for a meal for the two of us- this consists of 2 main dishes plus 2 bowls of rice.

3. We still have the option of being able to travel.

We have barely even travelled through South East Asia, and we’d love to visit Japan and New Zealand… so at least we have the option that we could do that. With my money situation and lack of job though, at the moment it’s not possible. But I know if we went to Ireland it would be much harder to travel. So it’s nice to know that we could possibly visit these places.

4. We live by ourselves.

Although I dislike our neighbours, we enjoy living in our apartment. I have the freedom here, whereas in Ireland, my Mum and Dad will be there and I think I’d miss my freedom more.

5. I’m independent here.

I don’t have to rely on anybody to bring me here or there. I have my bike, the great bus system, plus the new metro about 10 minutes walk from us. I don’t have to worry like I do in Ireland “Dad will you bring me to town please… Dad can you pick me up…?”  It’s nice to know that I can go anywhere.

6. The feeling of being safe.

When I walk in Ireland and in my town, I’m always wary. I just don’t feel 100% safe. Here however, I could walk in the city at 3am and I’d feel fine. In Ireland you would see a group of teens that just don’t look safe to be near, but here I’ve never seen that. I’ve never been afraid to walk past a big group of people. In Ireland though, especially if they are pretty drunk, I’d be more conscious of them and maybe cross the road.

I’m never afraid here, and I love that. ha the only time I’m truly afraid is when I’m in a taxi and they are driving recklessly!

7. Rent is cheaper.

I am shocked at how expensive rent is in Ireland. It’s unbelievable how people can actually afford to. In Dublin, the capital of Ireland, the average cost of rent in a normal area is  €1,530pm for a 900Sqft furnished accommodation. I definitely can’t afford that.

Unfortunately rent in Chengdu is always increasing, but at the moment we pay  €242pm. It’s a basic apartment; no mod cons, crappy sofa, no proper table… but we wanted a cheap place.. and so far it’s fine. I actually think it’s not worth the money but it’s near the metro, so of course our landlord upped the price.

In our community,  €400/ 3000元 will get you a decent big apartment. So rent is much much cheaper than in Ireland.

8.Living in general is cheap.

We know we won’t starve here. Everything is just so cheap here. Well except for restaurants and bars which cater for foreigner’s!

9. Wages for foreigners are high

Teachers are in high demand here… so that means that they will pay huge amounts to foreigners to come and teach. I’m fed up of teaching, but when that’s pretty much the only high paying job for us here… I’ll most likely have to find another teaching job. But anyway, wages are high… sometimes ridiculously high for teachers who are too lazy to teach well.

So I think I’ve found some positives of staying in China… if we end up needing to stay!

再见

爱玲

 

Leave a Reply

